Subliminal Genocide

With tremendous respect and admiration, Hydra Head Industries is proud to release the work of one of the underground black metal scene’s most creative minds: Xasthur. For this release, we are working in association with Battle Kommand Records. The Illinois-based label has released an impressive stable of quality underground releases, including a Xasthur/Leviathan split.

As one of the most innovative black metal practitioners in the isolationist sub-underground, Xasthur has crafted some of the most mesmerizing and significant music of the last decade, regardless of genre.

Subliminal Genocide wallows in its creator’s well nourished acrimony and terminal disgust, fomenting a hellish vortex of shrill riffery, cavernous howls and psychedelic stormblasts that bears down on the psyche with primordial distress. The U.S. black metal scene is regarded by those in-the-know as tremendously progressive. Xasthur (along with Leviathan, Krieg, and Nachtmystium) is an American artist whose forays into lo-fi atmospherics, unique instrument and vocal textures, as well as exploratory song structures are heralded.

Subliminal Genocide adheres to the sonic and lyrics principles of malevolence contained in Xasthur’s past work, but further develops the use space and atmosphere. Though the significance and appeal of underground black metal remains largely experienced only by the few who dwell in dark corners, we hope this tremendous Xasthur record reaches the ears of all those who are even slightly fond of extreme art.

1) Disharmonic Convergence
2) Prison of Mirrors
3) Beauty is Only Razor Deep
4) Trauma Will Always Linger
5) Pyramid of Skulls
6) Arcane and Misanthropic Projection
7) Victim of Your Dreams
8) Through a Trance of Dispondency
9) Loss and Inner Distortion
10) Subliminal Genocide
11) Malice Hidden in Surrealism

Out on Hydrahead/Battle Kommand 9/12/06