Xasthur: New and Final Full Length CD "Portal of Sorrow" Available Now

"Portal of Sorrow" marks the band's final release, and the first from their own Disharmonic Variations label. The record features vocal contributions from folk singer/songwriter Marissa Nadler.

From Malefic:

This album, "Portal of Sorrow", is the last Xasthur album, period.
The honorable thing to do is to end the band and not hang around too long, like so many metal/black metal bands do. Enough is enough, right?

I'm not able to make it work anymore. I don't want to turn into one of those bands who rely on too many guests and session musicians to make people interested in their music again. Some help is fine but more than some help is very cheap and it becomes others, not the roots of the band that makes the difference and the music work. I don’t want to fall into that pattern. The motivation and inspiration used to be there full time and now it's not there at all, not for doing Xasthur at least. It is a role or persona that I have simply outgrown. I’ve been saying I’m sick and tired of it all for too long... and now, I’m going to back it up. There are or have been literally 18,000 black metal bands; it does not matter if there's one less.

Just like in the nineties, I made a few recent attempts to put a real line-up together and it still failed; another sign that said “give it up already.”

However, I wanted to end on a better note with this 'Portal of Sorrow' album because the album that came before it, 'All reflections drained', was not up to par and I couldn't finish up with an album that I was less than satisfied with. Now, I suppose any or all goals have been reached and there is nothing more I wish to try with Xasthur and it's time to move on...

Read More

* Purchase "Portal of Sorrow" CD here!.. Vinyl Version will be released by Hydra Head in June...

Portal of Sorrow Tracklisting:
01. Portal of Sorrow
02. Broken Glass Christening
03. Shrine of Failure
04. Stream of Subconsciousness
05. Karma/Death
06. Horizon of Plastic Caskets
07. Mesmerized by Misery
08. This Abyss Holds the Mirror
09. Mourning Tomorrow
10. Miscarriage of the Soul
11. Obeyer's of their own Deaths
12. Released from this Earth
13. The Darkest Light
14. hiver de glace