Kayo Dot: Blue Lambency Downward CD Pre-Order

CLICK HERE to preorder
Album Stream: www.bluelambencydownward.com

For a VERY limited time you can get Kayo Dot's new album along with a limited-edition pillowcase, t-shirt, or both. These garments will be made ONLY for this pre-order, and are only going to be available to purchase through April 30th. After that you can still get the CD, but you'll be crying into your (ugly) pillow about missing this deal. The Kayo Dot pillowcases are hand-dyed and hand screen printed using water-based inks for a super-soft feel in the bedroom. We won't say they'll get you laid for sure, but artisan pillowcases always point to somebody with an appreciation for the finer things in life - such as Kayo Dot and hand-dyed pillowcases. And why stop there when you could also get a limited-edition Kayo Dot shirt to complete the whole effect? There is no good reason, friend - none.

The more we write these things, the more we begin to think that words simply don’t suffice. It’s like, first Pyramids, then Torche, and now this: Back-to-back-to-back WTF?s. We were thinking about how we should describe Blue Lambency Downward, and all kinds of phrases popped up—phrases like “a sonic experience unlike any other,” “Kayo Dot send irreverent compositional colors and supreme tonal iridescence bursting through the underground’s monotonous black & white” or “Kayo Dot levy a jazz-tinged sadness upon experimental rock’s triumphalist tendencies”—phrases sullied by overuse, vague incompatibility and the fact that if you’re reading this with even a passing interest, the word “jazz” probably bums you out. And yet multi-instrumentalists Toby Driver and Mia Matsumiya lull you into a dream state with a small cavalcade of instrumentation, plying an almost noir-ish sensibility at once moody and contemplative, bristling and demure. With a history that includes avant-metallurgists Maudlin Of The Well (Driver was the band’s, uh, driving force), John Zorn’s Tzadik Records (2003’s Choirs Of The Eye), Robotic Empire (2006’s Dowsing Anemone With Copper Tongue), and instruction from renowned jazz musician Dr. Yusef Lateef, Kayo Dot have delivered an unclassifiable masterpiece.

Track Listing:
  1. Blue Lambency Downward (10:00)
  2. Clelia Walking (5:29)
  3. Right Hand is the One I Want (6:54)
  4. The Sow Submits (4:02)
  5. The Awkward Wind Wheel (3:29)
  6. The Useless Ladder (2:40)
  7. Symmetrical Arizona (10:48)